Review: Jesse James & Secret Legend of Captain Coytus – Humor with a little history!

910JsER2yJL._SL1500_

Jesse James and the Secret Legend of Captain Coytus

Alex Mueck

Amazon |B&N |Goodreads

 

Synopsis:

When a Harvard history professor receives a thesis paper titled Jesse James and the Secret Legend of Captain Coytus, from Ulysses Hercules Baxter—an underwhelming student—he assumes the paper must be a prank. He has never read such maniacal balderdash in his life. But after he calls a meeting with the student, Professor Gladstone is dismayed when Baxter declares the work is his own. As he takes a very unwilling Professor Gladstone back in time via his thesis, Baxter’s grade hangs in the balance as he attempts to prove his theory.

It is 1864 as philanderer and crusader Captain Coytus embarks on a mission to avenge his father’s death and infiltrates the Confederate Bushwacker posse looking for the man responsible, Jesse Woodson James. Accompanied by the woman of his dreams, Coytus soon finds himself temporarily appointed to be the sheriff of Booneville and commissions his less-than-loyal deputy to help him carry out his plan.

But when tragedy strikes, the Captain is forced to change his immature ways and redefine his lofty mission—more or less.”

 

Review:

Grade: A (Five Stars)

This is a great mix of humor and history. I thought this book was filled with so much originality, it was going to burst. I’m not really a big fan of Westerns, but I checked out this book anyway, and I’m glad I did! What an unexpected surprise! This book is a perfect read for anyone hoping to break out of the mold a bit, the main character himself is such a free spirit, and it just really works. You don’t often come across a comedy book, that’s steeped in a bit of history, and can really cause such an emotional connection in the reader. This book did that! I was laughing, then I was mad, then I was all sad! It’s a ride, but I completely suggest you take a chance on it. As for the book itself, it’s well written, it’s got a good flow, and I will say it’s logically plotted out. I couldn’t find any technical issues with this book, but I was busy being entertained, I didn’t even have time to notice! I think the author did a wonderful job bringing such a crazy bunch of characters to life in this book, starting with his main character. I loved how well the author really told his tale, a “tall tale” for sure, but it brought you in and I honestly started to believe parts of it, until we got to another hilarious moment, and I remembered what I’m reading, but you can definitely tell the quality of writer, because this book hits a home run! J

*I was given a copy in exchange for an honest review.

 

About The Author:

Alex Mueck, author of The Account & Myth Man and his latest novel – Jesse James & The Secret Legend of Captain Coytus

Webiste: http://alexmueck.com/

Leave a Reply

