Review: Lost Causes: Silent Scream by Donna J. Thompson

Article first published for RebeccasReads

I’m not really sure even how to start my review of “Lost Causes: Silent Scream” by Donna J. Thompson. This was a good book!

Mental facilities are something that I think really sparks out interest as a culture. I can’t count the abandoned asylum photos I’ve looked at, or Lost Causesthe horror movies I’ve seen which incorporate this sinister place. Obviously, we know not all mental health facilities are houses of terror, but there’s always that one out there. Thompson has found that one in this novel.

This book grabbed me. I did have to slug into the first chapter or so, get my feet wet, but as soon as the action started happening, I was hooked, and this really only took a few chapters.

“Lost Causes” has secrets, cover ups and deaths. It’s quite the story. Casey West, the main character, decides to try and figure out what’s lurking below the surface at Lakeview. Casey decides to look into this and it really throws her world for a curveball. Her friend dies, she’s not sure who she can trust, and she really needs to try to save the people she cares about.

There’s the family friend who helped her get the job, and his involvement with what’s going on, there’s the fact that she discovered two of her relatives in this place, plus there’s a detective that just might believe Casey’s story. Murders, liars, and all around creeps in this book, but they make for a very compelling story.

Lost Causes” by Donna J. Thompson has just the right level of fiction to go with the elements that might be a bit closer to nonfiction. I thought technically this book was written well, it’s got solid organization from beginning to end, and I didn’t really fall into any giant plot holes that left me confused. I got into the book pretty easily, and once I was interested, I read this book quite quickly. I liked how the secrets developed. It took time, it wasn’t rushed and I think it really delivered better that way.

Great book!

Lost Causes: Silent Scream
Donna J. Thompson
Outskirts Press (2013)
ISBN: 9781478712862
Reviewed by Cianna Reider for Rebecca’s Reads (12/13)

Leave a Reply

