Stolen Time – Blog Tour – Guest Post

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000039_00071]

Stolen Time

Angela Rae Harris:  Stories of Hope ~ Creating Dreams

The debut novella by Author Angela Harris

 Synopsis:

Tragedy has made Keaira wise beyond her twenty years. Forced to work for the General, a commanding man who blackmailed his way into her life, she was ordered to study self-defense and master knife throwing. In the hidden community of Shifters, falcons are considered weak, a fact which may ultimately save her life. To escape his cruelty, she will need to call
upon her quick-witted falcon side, but the General has other plans – ones which involve his only son, Carson.

When unexpected feelings form between Keaira and Carson, the General quickly moves his pieces into place, launching his quest to take over the world. If she wants to survive, Keaira must stay one step ahead in the General’s deadly game and discover his weaknesses. Even if it means risking her life and the lives of those she cares about most.

With war on the horizon, sides are being drawn.  Deadly secrets must be exposed. Time is running out for Keaira and all of mankind.

Excerpt #1:

Carson stuffed his hands into his front pockets to keep from touching her.

“Then maybe a movie?” After he said it, he felt his lips slip into a half smile.

Keaira laughed, and her eyes brightened.

“My first night back isn’t going to be spent in an uncomfortable chair, staring at a screen. Not being allowed to move or talk.”

Carson chuckled. She was turning out to be unlike any girl he had met.

“Then let’s hear your ideas.”

Stepping closer, Keaira raised her eyebrows. Her tongue darted out to moisten lips that had turned serious. She had to tilt her chin up to look at him by the time she stopped in front of him.

“I say we go to my favorite sports pub and have dinner. I know for a fact that there is a baseball game on tonight.”

She was so close Carson could smell mint on her breath. He closed his eyes for a minute and was greeted by his other half. His young mountain lion was calmly sitting in the darkness of his subconscious. Carson had inherited his family’s Shifter genes. He could change into the large cat at will. His kitty let out an irritated huff and circled before lying down with his back to Carson. Apparently, the cat wasn’t interested in Keaira. He didn’t raise any alarms, so Carson took that as a “do what you want” kind of message.

Opening his eyes, Carson refrained from leaning into Keaira. He met her gaze and then scanned her face. She stole his breath away when she bit down on her lower lip. Freckles dotted her cheeks and her nose, making her look more innocent than she acted. A striped white mark was visible just under her left eye. It was so white it could have been an old scar. Four lines that looked like a bird track in the white sand that was her pale skin. He felt his fingers ball up into fists in his pockets. The urge to feel how soft her skin must be was overwhelming.

Guest Post: Keeping My Ears Occupied!

I don’t tend to listen to music when I write. Songs are stories of their own and when I’m writing, I let the characters in my head lead the way. I feel like when I have music on and I’m trying to write, there is a conflict of interest.

My writing routine is usually something like this: my kids go down for a nap and then I pull out my laptop and turn on Friends. Yep, the show about six friends living in New York that ran for ten years in the late ‘90s and early 2000s. Having that in the background is enough to keep my ears entertained but still lets me focus on the story at hand.

The last season that Friends ran on NBC, I was living in an apartment and working two jobs. I wasn’t seeing my family much. I would go over to my parent’s house every Thursday night for dinner and my mom and I would watch the show together. I suppose that the show is somewhat of a comfort to me for that reason.

When I get to the editing stage, I feel more inclined to drown out the characters in my head and focus more on the grammar and technical aspect of writing. This is when I will play the song that reminds me of a character in the story. I’ll usually play it a few times before diving in. Then I type the song into vevo.com. Vevo plays music videos and keeps the playlist very similar in style to the song you choose. That way I can keep my characters in mind but still focus on the task at hand.

I have a few songs that remind of Keaira and Carson from Stolen Time. The one I listen to the most is “Red” by Taylor Swift. The song reminds me of Keaira, it even mentions driving a fast car. It doesn’t hurt that Taylor Swift herself looks like the Keaira I picture in my head.

Thank you for having me! I’d love to hear what song reminds you of Stolen Time if you have read it!

Here is my pick (Red by Taylor Swift):

About the Author:

Angela Rae Harris Author Picutre

Angela Rae Harris:  Stories of Hope ~ Creating Dreams

Angela is an author, a wife, mother of two, and a part-time assistant office manager. She loves nights when her husband cooks. Her two kids keep her hopping and help her tap into her well of creativity and imagination.

At thirteen, Angela read Harry Potter and was reacquainted with books. She reads everything from Steven King to Will Hobbs. She started writing after her youngest was born. The characters started to visit and wouldn’t let her sleep until she wrote down their stories.

She’d love for people to get lost in her books.

Website/Blog / Facebook Fan Page / Twitter / Goodreads /

Book Links:

Amazon / Amazon U.K. / Barnes & Noble / Smashwords / Goodreads

One comment

Leave a Reply

