Falling Behind by Dee Avila Blog Tour – Guest Post – All About Writing!

Falling Behind Banner

 

Falling Behind Cover

Title: Falling Behind

Author: Dee Avila

Genre: Mature Young Adult

Release Date: June 2013

Hosted by:

Love Between the Sheets

Add to Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17255294-falling-behind

 

Purchase Links

Amazon US: http://amzn.com/B00E1WCHOU

Amazon UK: http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00E1WCHOU

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/falling-behind-dee-avila/1116795252

Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/342071

 

Synopsis

Going into the her second year of high school in the rural town of Laton, Reese was ready to come out of her shell, experience life with her best friends and find a way to tell Titus she wanted to be more than friends. When Josh, the new student, shows up on the first day and a whirlwind relationship starts between him and Reese, she was in her own world and barely noticed her friend spiraling downhill. The night Josh pushed her to far her best friend died, causing her own world to spiral.
Trying to move on from losing her best friend and ignore what Josh did to her, Reese pulls away from everyone. She had to overcome her fears and face her demons to be able to move forward.

 

Guest Post:

 

The writing process and why it took me three years.

In August of 2010 I talked to my husband and told him I wanted to write a book and see about getting it published. He was all for it, supporting me from the beginning. I made him promise me that he wouldn’t say anything to anyone. Then I told my sister and my dad. They were very encouraging. At that point, I was honest with myself, if I didn’t tell people I would never follow through.  As I told more friends my husband questioned me on why. I explained to him that I had to tell; I needed people to hold me accountable. To make me finish.

I wrote a vampire book, that at this time is almost finished but sitting in a file not seeing the light of day. Maybe someday that book will come to life and I will share it will all you wonderful readers, but at this time it’s not ready. I had another two story lines brewing. I started writing notes for Falling Behind, at the time it was titled Fear. The more notes I wrote, the more I wanted this book to reach readers.

With the support of my family and friends, and their constant questions about my writing, I decided to do a little research and reach out to a few Indie Authors I had met. I found the wrong turns I made with my first novel. That brings us to the process of writing that I came across and suggested by many. Now, don’t get me wrong this is not a set-in-stone process, nor does it work for everyone.

First, write. Re-read your work at least a thousands times. Okay maybe not a thousand, but it feels like it when you’re reading your manuscript over and over again. With each pass, you will find new mistakes, a better way to write a sentence or two. At this point you should probably start looking for a copy editor and cover artist. They book up fast and I do not recommend publishing without an editor. You want your book to be the best it can be.

Second, find good betas and have them read it. Use their suggestions; they are seeing your manuscript for the first time. They can see plot holes, or lack of emotion. Keep an open relationship with them; you need betas that tell you when something isn’t working just as much as you need them to tell you it’s good. I also lean a lot on my critique partner. My writing buddy, most of my major scenes I go over with her before I even finish the novel.

Third, read your manuscript again. Fix all typos and changes that may have come from your betas.

With this knowledge I felt better equipped to start writing Falling Behind and putting my heart into it. This was already 2011. I wrote and revised Falling Behind for a year by myself. I didn’t listen to the above suggestions.

In March of 2012 I made the decision to take a few online workshop courses. Best decision I ever made. I went through SaavyAuthors, they offer workshops on everything imaginable. I took six courses that spanned over eight weeks. Most of the courses allowed you to use your current WIP (work in progress) for the homework assignments. I could see where I was weak when I would get my edited or corrected scenes back.  It made a huge difference in my writing. With my new found information and feeling as if my writing was stronger I tackled Falling Behind again. I just about rewrote the whole manuscript. That brings us to late 2012. I reached out to a few friends that read and my sister and asked them to read as betas. I went through a few editors before I found my editor. I was extremely nervous to send my manuscript to an editor. I was nervous it wasn’t going to be good enough. That it was going to be too much for her to fix. I went to an Ask the Editor event on Facebook and told my editor this. Her response, “That’s what an editor is for to help you make your book the best it can be.” She was so comforting and friendly that three months later when my manuscript was ready I reached out to her. I am so glad I attended that event that day, told her I was nervous, and scared to send my book to an editor. I told her as much.

I was a nervous wreck as she read my manuscript. Once I received it back, I was nervous for a completely new reason. My book was about to go out to the masses. I am thankful for the authors that I can call friends; they helped me reach my dream. I am thankful for my betas and my critique partner. Falling Behind would not have been what it is without the help of all these individuals. I don’t if I would have come to the decision to Self-Publish without them either. When I started writing I was ready to query agents and go the traditional route. After talking to other Indie Authors I made the decision to selfpub and right now, I am glad I did.

 

Thanks for having me today and for participating in my blog tour. If you have questions you can message me or leave a comment on here.

 

About the Author

I’m a wife and mother of four. I have been writing for as long as I can remember. I use to write fairy tales when I was in grade school, but now I love writing about those tough high school years and how one decision can change the course of your life. Friendships, first loves and over coming the odds all interest me.
Three years ago, I decided life was too short to waste my stories by letting them collect dust on my shelves. I researched querying, took a few writing workshops and wrote the whole time. I first ventured away from what I normally wrote and tried a Paranormal Romance. That novel is tucked safely away. A year ago I chose to go back to my roots and write what I love – friendships, love and choices – how speaking out can save a life, maybe yours or a friends.
I talked to other authors and made wonderful friends. That’s when I learned about self-publishing. I’m glad I followed through. I was so nervous to hit publish, but now I am grateful for the encouragement. It was the best decision I’ve ever made.

I’m usually in front of my laptop. When I’m not writing I am either trying to catch up on a weeks worth of laundry or on Facebook. I am a huge procrastinator. Usually close to a deadline, you can find me actually cleaning house just so I don’t have to hit send. I think sending my books out to betas and my editor is the second scariest thing in the world. I love Rockstars and PB&J sandwiches. (Not the healthiest I know but it’s the fastest and it tastes good.)
I love meeting new people, find me on Facebook/deeavilaauthor
or Twitter @deeavilabooks.

Connect with the Author

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DeeAvilaAuthor

Website: http://www.deeavilabooks.blogspot.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/deeavilabooks

Goodreads Author Page: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6894904.Dee_Avila

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/Dee-Avila/e/B00FCE4ZUU/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

One comment

Leave a Reply

