Review: The Risen Remnants by Marie F Crow, a whole new cast, same amazing style, another great book! @mariefcrow

REMNANTS FRONT COVER

The Risen: Remnants

Published by Marie F. Crow Publishing

Release Date: September 20, 2013

Author: Marie F. Crow

Genre: Horror/ Zombie / Thriller

Synopsis:

Beth Clark lives of the edge of an abyss. Everyday is spent fighting for her survival and the survival of her teen daughter, Genny. Their lives have been shattered by a vaccine that was supposed to have been a modern miracle. A vaccine that is turning the living into monstrosities of their former selves.

Now, only remnants remain of their past lives. Mother and daughter will struggle to survive with what this new world holds for them as they discover the dawning of the Risen.

“Please Lord, don’t let my daughter see me die today.”

Elizabeth Clark

But It

Amazon eBook | Amazon Paperback

Excerpt:

 Once upon a time, there was a perfect girl, with a perfect life, in a perfect world. Once upon a time, that was me. Now nothing is perfect and the fairy tales are finally back to the truth of their origins as “warning tales” for children.

   I will throw it all away for love; a love that will be the death of me. In fact, if you are reading this, some person that I have yet to meet, I am most likely already dead. The only way a set of eyes other than my own will rest upon these words is if my eyes are closed to never open again. The way the world is headed, I hope they close soon. I hope they close for good and not to just reopen again later in a lighter shade and foreign to those that once knew me.

   This isn’t just my story that I write. It’s all of ours; all of us that are still trying to survive. Those still trying to pick up the very little that is left for us. Those of us just trying to carry on. Even when we feel utterly alone we are all connected. Now, in this no longer perfect world, we are either trying to survive or we are already dead.

   If by some slim chance that I am still alive should you read this, I hope I find you. I hope we meet and we can share your stories – not your stories of today, but your stories of yesterdays. I crave to hear your stories of blue skies and laughter. I want to hear a story of another time when our families were whole and our friends were close. A time before those same people became things we had to destroy and fear.

   As I write this my daughter, Genny, and I are hiding in our home. The neighborhood has become a dangerous place. Things that shouldn’t be possible now surround us. I don’t understand any of it. I only pray that we survive each day. I pray that my daughter, who relies on me completely, never has to watch me die.

goodreads-badge-add-38px[1][1]

Review:

Grade: A+ (five Stars and beyond!)

Marie F Crow has done it again.

This Risen book is just as good as her earlier ones, if not better! I was caught up from the moment the book started. I loved it, I was worried at first with a new cast.. I wasn’t sure it was going to be the same or draw me in, but I loved this new cast and this new side to the world they live in. The journal entries interested me, kept me thinking, along with the ever present refrain, “Don’t let my daughter see me die today”, we are compelled to keep reading, because if you know Marie F Crow’s style, if you love them, they will die.

This story had a whole new cast, and can be read without reading the other books, though reading them in order is always the best way to go. The story centers around a mom and her daughter struggling to survive in their new world. We also get to learn the cause of the zombie plague, and more details about it in this story. She gives us a different side of the world, different characters, quite different from Helena and her group. This mother/daughter foucs really keeping this tense and interesting, such a strong dynamic. We travel with the mom and daughter, meeting other survivors, and trying to find hope in this dark, dark world. I can’t even explain how much I liked this book, but as a warning, this is not a HEA. This is a continuing story, and things do not end all settled and happy, it’s the zombie apocalypse! Why would they?!

An amazing story, amazingly well written and completely engaging. You won’t put this book down, and you’ll read to the end, and you’ll want to throttle Marie F Crow, while simultaneously wanting the next book right now! Check this series out, Zombie loves, you won’t regret it!

I am in love with this author’s style! Bring on the next book! Hopefully very soon! 😉

*I was given a copy in exchange for an honest review.

About The Author:

59b404a9332a0a7e9d9af8.L._V384196603_SY470_

Marie F Crow is the author of the post-apocalyptic series, The Risen. She weaves her stories around the human element of the horror verses the “monsters” themselves. She believes that the real horror of life does not come from the expected, but from the unexpected responses of the human nature and what depths of trauma a person has to survive in certain situations. She began writing The Risen series when feeling that the popular genre was slipping too deep into the realm of pure “slasher” and forgetting what the horror of zombies can mean for a story.

Now with her children’s series launched, Marie hopes to use her favorite “monster” as a teaching tool to inspire children to understand that not everything that looks scary, is scary. With Abigail and Her Pet Zombie series, Marie hopes to further spread her love for all things “that go bump in the night” with small children showing them that it’s okay to be different and to embrace those same differences in those around them.

Sugar and Spice and Everything Dies Twice,

Marie F. Crow

One comment

Leave a Reply

