ARC Review: The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa – Twist and Turns for love in Nevernever! @Jkagawa @HarlequinTeen

Today I am super excited to present my ARC review for The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa, which releases this November. I have followed this series from the beginning since I’m a dire hard fan of the fey, and was excited to be allowed a copy early for a review.

15811405 Author: Julie Kagawa

Genre: YA, Fantasy

Publisher: Harlequin Teen

Release Date: November 2013

 

Synopsis:

IN THE REAL WORLD, WHEN YOU VANISH INTO THIN AIR FOR A WEEK, PEOPLE TEND TO NOTICE

After his unexpected journey into the lands of the fey, Ethan Chase just wants to get back to normal. Well, as “normal” as you can be when you see faeries every day of your life. Suddenly the former loner with the bad reputation has someone to try for—his girlfriend, Kenzie. Never mind that he’s forbidden to see her again.

But when your name is Ethan Chase and your sister is one of the most powerful faeries in the Nevernever, “normal” simply isn’t to be. For Ethan’s nephew, Keirran, is missing, and may be on the verge of doing something unthinkable in the name of saving his own love. Something that will fracture the human and faery worlds forever, and give rise to the dangerous fey known as the Forgotten. As Ethan’s and Keirran’s fates entwine and Keirran slips further into darkness, Ethan’s next choice may decide the fate of them all.

 

Review:

My Grade: A+  (5 Stars and beyond)

Holy man, I have been waiting for the book, so once I got my ARC, I read like no tomorrow, I devoured the book. I’ve read all the books this author has written and everything in this series. Completely #teampuck all the way, even though we all know Ash won. But, these tales are all crafted. So well, and so with heart that every time I pick up one, I can’t put it down.

In this book, We start right up where the Iron Prince left off, we are back in the real world, and the NeverNever is far behind us, or so we wish. I warn you, I may have spoilers, accidentally, but I’m going to try my hardest to let you experience this book without anything, like I did, because it’s perfect that way.

So book begins, they return and Meghan comes to visit, Keirran is missing. This is the key plot which starts our beloved adventure. Keirran is on a quest for the one he loves. He will do everything and anything in his power to help his love.. (wonder who that sounds like? Genetically speaking of course). No one can track him, no one can find him, but Meghan comes to Ethan to see if he can help. Well, our wonderful reluctant hero finally steps up, and using all his gathered intel about the fey, may have a lock on our disappearing price, so off we go on this amazing advenuture.

 

                I loved this  book.

I think I need to break this one down to explain all of my love.

 

Title & Cover Art:

I think the title, and cover are to die for. So well designed, and I mean, come on, the title has been causing chaos on Goodreads for months now! Who is the traitor? Well, it sure looks like Keirran and I don’t plan to ruin the book for anyone in my review. But this is a beautiful tie in for the book, and a very haunted look! Perfect!

Story Arc:

Julie Kagawa loves quests. Her characters tend to quest a lot, but for a myriad of reasons. This one is no different. This time it’s Keirran’s quest and this one will be a good one. He, very much like his father, will do anything for the one he loves, and both father and son’s quests will come into play in this book, as we face the repercussions for their choices. Keirran develops so beautifully in this book, though not in the way we expected right away, but no matter what he’s character development is necessary and terrifying. I think Ethan and Kenzie’s relationship is probably my favorite in this new series. They are the perfect combination of cute, funny, and dangerously clever. They make a perfect team. Kenzie is very stubborn and quite strong willed, and it’s nice to have a bold female in this second series as well. We get to have some wonderfully humorous interactions with Puck, Grimalkin, and a few other key characters too, which breaks the drama and action quite a bit. Overall, this was a perfect story, and felt natural, like it was always supposed to go that way.

The Ending:

So, Kagawa takes us up a cliff and leaves us hanging there. I am especially frustrated with the ending, not because it wasn’t completely well thought out, or completely reasonable, but because I now have to wait for the next book and this book hasn’t even been released yet! My wait has grown longer then the average person’s wait, and I need to know what will happen next!

The issues we face in this book are very reminiscent of issues addressed previously in the first section of this series. Love, and fight for love, and even if it means tearing everything you love apart, will you go as far as you can go to be with the one you love? It’s a tough question. But our characters are dealing with it separately. We see Ethan & Kenzie dealing with the lack of forever. We see Keirran fighting for his forever, and we have to look a bit deeper into what came from Ash & Meghan’s forever.

I highly recommend this book. If you like any of the previous books, then I don’t need to convince you. But for those of you, who haven’t read anything by Julie Kagawa, I’m not sure what you are waiting for but hopefully my review sways you into starting your own journey into this world. If you like fairies, this is a good choice for you. They aren’t meek and mild fairies, and they will tie in slightly to you vague knowledge of Shakespeare in a way, but I promise you won’t be disappointed. Pick up this book and read it, or go back and start from the beginning, of this series with Lost Prince, or the beginning of the whole ride with The Iron King, following Meghan’s journey but either way, jump in now.

If you love action, fey folk, a good YA romance, hilarious jokes, deathly peril, and angry ogres, check this book out. I’d say this is one of the best in the series yet, and we are only looking forward to more and better with the next book!

 

*I was given a copy of this book from NetGalley for an honest review.

 

You know you want to add it to your TBR on Goodreads!

 

Pre-Order It Now:

Amazon | B&NIndieBound |Indigo

 

About the Author:

Author

Born in Sacramento, CA, Julie Kagawa moved to Hawaii at the age of nine. There she learned many things: how to bodyboard, that teachers scream when you put centipedes in their desks and that writing stories in math class is a fantastic way to kill time. Her teachers were glad to see her graduate. Julie now lives in Louisville, KY, with her husband and a plethora of pets. She still laughs whenever she sees a centipede.
Visit her at www.juliekagawa.com.

Want More Iron Fey?

Book Trailer for The Lost Prince (The book which starts off this second section of series)

Website for the series

Julie Kagawa on Facebook

Julie Kagawa on Twitter

Harlequin Teen on Facebook

Harlequin Teen on Twitter

Take an awesome Iron Fey Quiz!

Enter to win a copy on Goodreads! 

Leave a Reply

