Excerpt & Review: Faster Then The Rest by Shirleen Davies

FasterThenTheRest

Synopsis

    U. S. Marshal Jamie MacLaren will do whatever he must to find people who have been abducted, then return them to their families. This includes the woman who betrayed him then disappeared from his life.
Victoria Wicklund has endured numerous obstacles since she left Fire Mountain. None as frightening as being the victim of a kidnapping. At least that is what she thought until Jamie MacLaren appeared to rescue her. He was older, just as handsome as she remembered, and as unforgiving as the Arizona sun in summer.
Neither expects the desire they shared many years before to still burn as strong as ever. Nor do they anticipate the accusations upon their return to Fire Mountain. Will Jamie seek revenge, turning his back on the only woman he ever loved? Can Victoria forgive herself enough to trust the one man who can help her?

Excerpt:

“Tell me, Victoria. Why did you leave if it wasn’t for the money?” His voice was a whisper across her face. She could almost smell the anger pulsing from him, along with all the other familiar scents of the man she’d always loved. He was just as intoxicating now, just as impossible to resist.

She lifted her face to his to look into eyes that had turned a deep steel grey. She could lose herself in those eyes. It was her last coherent thought as his mouth moved towards hers inch-by-inch, brushing across her lips, and coaxing them to open for him. When she didn’t resist Jamie moved one arm to the back of her neck, holding her in place while his other arm moved to her back, pressing her to him. Her arms slid up and around his neck, pulling his head down to hers. His mouth moved to her eyes, traveled across her checks and down her neck, before settling again on her parted lips.

Jamie was amazed at how the taste and feel of Victoria in his arms hadn’t changed. She was still the most desirable woman he’d ever known. No matter what else had transpired, his body still craved hers as it had none other.

From Book Blitz

 

Review:

Grade: A

Reviewed by Kayla for Sunshine & Mountains

I just finished reading Tougher than the Rest and went straight into reading Faster than the Rest by Shirleen Davies.

I fell in love with the characters. Jamie lost everything and I mean everything his family, his first love and would just like another chance at life. Jamie and Victoria meet and Victoria has a past and is fighting for her life.

I thought Jamie was a great character in Tougher than the Rest and he is an even better character as a standalone, I feel like he is my favorite brother out of all 4 of them.

Victoria was a really strong character in my opinion, mostly from her past experiences that are hard and cold. Despite being the lady in distress, she keeps herself headstrong and her focus on dealing with and moving past her troubles.

I really enjoyed this book and think it could be great by itself and goes wonderful with Tougher than the Rest.

Nice job Shirleen Davies! 🙂

I really liked your book and I think it made me want to read more western romances. I couldn’t put these books down!

Well written, interesting, full of twists and turns, and good old fashioned western romance! These books are perfect, and just keep getting better!

**I received this book in exchange for an honest review **

 

Links:

Shirleen Davies on Amazon

Shirleen Davies’s website

Shirleen Davies on Facebook

Shirleen Davies on Twitter

Shirleen Davies on Goodreads

Shirleen Davies on Google+

Faster Then The Rest on Amazon

Faster Then The Rest on Goodreads

Tougher Then The Rest on Amazon

Tougher Then The Rest on Goodreads

 

About the Author:

2314796

I have been writing most of my life, but only recently began the transition into fiction. Historical romance, contemporary romance, romantic suspense, and short stories are what keep me reading, so that is the focus of my writing.

I was born in California, grew up between a growing beach town and a small town at the base of the San Bernardino mountains. My mother originally planned to name me Katherine, but she read an article in the paper about a woman named Shirleen shortly before my birth, so instead of having a cool nickname, like Kate, I am simply Shirleen. My mainstays growing up were all the Nancy Drew mystery books; I loved them. Eventually I moved on to mysteries, suspense stories, crime novels, and romance. Pride and Prejudice will always be one of my favorites.

Besides California, life changes have allowed me to live in Oregon, Colorado, and Arizona. Everywhere I have lived has been inspirational in one way or another, giving me the opportunity to meet remarkable people with their own stories to tell. I’ve sailed, skied, owned horses plus lots of other animals, and ridden various off-road vehicles. I enjoy dancing, fishing, hunting, being the back-seater on my husband’s Harley, traveling and, of course, reading and writing.

Prior to transitioning to writing fiction, I worked for Fortune 500 and many smaller, start-up companies. Fortunately, I regained my sanity long enough to start my own consulting firm, which I still maintain today.

My husband and I spend most of our time at our main home in the mountains of Arizona and our second home in Southern California. Between us we have five boys with growing careers and families of their own. So, from my perspective, my life is a success and always an adventure. I wouldn’t change a thing; well, except finding more time to write.

I love hearing from readers, so please feel free to email me at shirleen@shirleendavies.com.

Best regards to all of you,

  Shirleen Davies

Leave a Reply

