Milk vs Water

So, this weekend, I really wanted to bake, but I had forgotten to buy a cake mix, or milk, or a bread pan, so all I had was two choices, Cinnamon muffins, or this shake & pour funfetti cupcakes, and then sadly, it dwindled to one, as the shake & pour was so far past it’s use by date, I wasn’t even willing to risk that,

 So I decided on muffins, as I also have no non stick spray or butter in the house to grease a pan for coffee cake, which was the original plan.. and if things couldn’t have gotten worse, the recipe called for milk, which I didn’t have, and since it was Sunday, and no buses are running, I didn’t want to walk a half hour for.

So I subbed water, after reading countless reviewers battle it out, and I’m pleased to say, I had a good experience as well.  I luckily had enough oil for the mix, plus a tiny bit extra, which is always good if you leave out the milk, the oil will help keep them moist.

So I baked them, luckily having bought a cupcake pan, about three months ago, that came with it’s first round of wrappers! 

So, anyway, despite the fact that the mix was past it’s “better by” date, and I only had milk, and was baking at my nice, high altitude, the muffins came out, warm, moist and perfect. 

ImageI

I don’t mean to brag, I’m just basing this off the 4 my boyfriend ate that day.

 

Recipe below:

3/4 Milk or Water

1/4 Oil (increase this a bit if using water

Vanilla, optional (I didn’t have this either)

Betty Crocker Cinnamon Strudel Mix

2 Eggs

Preheat oven to 425

Mix together, don’t over mix, using a wooden spoon is better then a mixer to help in the moist category. A few little lumps are OK, they’ll bake out.

Sprinkle the topping

Bake for 16-21 minutes, depending on your oven, mine was about 18min.

Enjoy and remember, if using water, add a bit more oil, don’t overmix, and vanilla helps boost the taste.

 

Leave a Reply

