On a hunt for a queso dip recipe!

So, back home in Ohio, all Mexican restaurants have a queso dip, and they are all (mostly) white, creamy, spicy and delicious. I assumed all Mexican restaurants were like Ohio joints. Unfortunately, a year after moving to Colorado, and over a dozen restaurants later, I have found that there’s no white queso dip anywhere. It may be because it’s less authentic, as Colorado is jam packed with Mexican places and dishes, but it also may be some other reason. Either way, I need this queso as the future of my yet to be created beef enchiladas with queso depend on me finding a good recipe, and making it easy as possible.

Attempt one, had me getting rotel and white american cheese, and completely flopped due to a lack of heat in my small melting pot, and a lack of paticece on my end. This time, it will be different. I have looked over many recipes (favorites are here, here, and here for a few) and I’m planning on combining them to a recipe, I have added the one that I’m using as my biggest base below, stolen from Center Cut Cook.com, and I think this one will help me build my dip my way. I already know i’m going for a mix of white american and pepper jack, possibly with a *little* velvetta queso blanco involved. I’m not sure as to jalapenos vs pickled ones, verses rotel, but that will happen with tests and chances.

 

Wish me luck! and let me know if there’s a recipe you suggest! 

 

 

Queso blanco

Prep: 5mn
Total: 15mn
Cook: 10mn

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound white american cheese, shredded
  • 1/2 cup half and half (more if desired)
  • 1/2-1 tablespoon oil
  • 1 jalapeño, seeds removed, diced
  • 1/4 of a small onion, diced
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1/8 teaspoon black pepper
  • Tortilla chips

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large skillet, heat oil, then sauté’ jalapeño and onion until the pepper is tender and the onion is translucent.
  2. Reduce the heat to medium low and add in all of the shredded white american cheese and stir constantly.
  3. When the cheese is nearly melted, begin stirring in half and half. I used about 1/2 cup to get the desired consistency. Use more or less to get the consistency that you’re looking for.
  4. Add in diced tomato, chopped cilantro, and black pepper. Stir until everything is incorporated and the dip is smooth and creamy.
  5. Serve immediately with tortilla chips, tortillas, or veggies.
  6. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

